You are here

Lightning win Emo Bantam tourney


The IBEW Lightning (Fort Frances) lost only one game in capturing the ‘A’ title of the Emo Bantam hockey tournament, beating the previously undefeated Emo Cowboys 3-1 in the final.

After going scoreless in the first two periods, the Lightning got on the board when Kevin Webb converted a perfect pass from Brennan Kilmister at 1:43 of the third.

Garry Curtis got that one back for the Cowboys but Kilmister then netted a goal at the 7:29 mark to make it 2-1. Webb then iced the game with an empty-net goal assisted by Levi Sisco.

After swamping the Whitefish Bay Winterhawks in their first game, the Lightning were nipped 4-3 by the Dryden Esso Jets but stormed back with an 8-3 win in their rematch with Whitefish Bay.

Then they surprised Dryden 1-0 in their second crack at the Jets.

The Cowboys reached the final by blanking Canadian Tire 3-0, then doubling the Dryden Jets 4-2. They later beat Canadian Tire again 3-1 and nipped the Oddfellows (Fort Frances) by a 3-2 count.

Meanwhile, the ‘B’ final saw Roy Tighe get all three goals, including the game-winner four minutes into overtime, as Canadian Tire came back to edge the Rainy River Rebels.

Travis Green, Lawrence Kelly, and Joey Fedorak assisted on Tighe’s goals. John Kirkrude got both Rainy River markers, assisted by Ken Guss each time.

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon