You are here

Fastball leagues hand out hardware


The best and brightest that the local fastball leagues had to offer this season were celebrated over the weekend at separate awards banquets.

The Rainy River District Women's Fastball League held their awards night on Friday night at the Back Alley Bar in Emo, where Renegades' pitcher Karma Andy took home the MVP award.

Andy compiled an impressive 8-1 record in the regular season and helped lead her squad into the RRDWFL final, where they were just edged out 2-1 by the four-time champion Fort Frances Her-icanes.

Bev Cochrane (Manitou T-Birdies) claimed the sportsmanship award while Rylee Redford (Fort Frances Angels) was named this season's home run queen as she clubbed a league-leading seven round-trippers.

Calleigh Councillor (Northwest Bay Beavers) was tabbed as the rookie-of-the-year.

Joe Jolicouer (Renegades) was named coach-of-the-year while Stacy Patey (Her-icanes) took home manager-of-the-year honours.

Top players were also chosen at each position, including Marissa Kerry (Her-icanes) at pitcher, Shae Smith (Beavers) at catcher, Caylee Woolsey (Her-icanes) at first base, Gina Pope (Renegades) at second, Connie Smith (Beavers) at third, and Steph Legree (Couchiching Raiders) at shortstop.

Janelle Andy (Beavers), Summer Leonard (Raiders), and Charmaine Hunter (Dawson Tigers) were named as the top outfielders.

Courtney Easton (Beavers) was tabbed as the best utility player.

The men's league, meanwhile, handed out its awards on Saturday night at the Emo Legion.

Travis Tom of the Fort Frances Braves was named the Gerry Harasymyk Award Winner as MVP.

Aidan Tom was selected as rookie-of-the-year while Mike Parisien (Braves) captured the Shane Jarvis Memorial Award for Sportsmanship.

Duane Carlson (Sight & Sound Wolves) was the Umpire's Choice winner while league president Vaughan Wilson (Barwick Blue Knights) was named manager-of-the-year.

Cole Tymkin (Braves) was this year's home run king as he smacked a league-best nine big flies.

Top players were also chosen at each position, including Jaden Gustafson (Braves) at pitcher, Kyle Copenace (Sabaskong Lakers) at catcher, DJ Mosbeck (Blue Knights) at first base, Mike Anderson (Blue Knights) at second, Brian Hook (Braves at third), and Tom at shortstop.

Aaron Caul (Wolves), Brandon McGinnis (Braves), and Ryder Woolsey (Blue Knights) were named as the top outfielders while Tymkin was tabbed as the best utility player.

Free story: 
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon