You are here


Kiwanis awaiting final auction tally

A final tally on proceeds from the 22nd-annual Kiwanis TV Auction, held Saturday afternoon on Videon Channel 11, won’t be known for another week or so as the local club wraps up some loose ends.

“I think [the proceeds] are close to $13,500 but that’s not our profit—we still have to pay the bills,” Kiwanian Stan Ward stressed yesterday.

Fort High ‘Envirothon’ team tops

The “Envirothon” competition is a relatively new event in Ontario, and this year Fort Frances High School’s team were crowned the Northwestern Ontario champs.

The competition has only been held for five years and this year was the first time it was hosted by Fort Frances (it actually was held on private property off La Vallee Road South).