You are here

Votto named as an NL MVP finalist


Joey Votto started the 2017 season unsure how his defensive game would stack up.

Now that it's over, the Cincinnati Reds' first baseman and Canadian star said it was his defence that made him most proud over his MVP-calibre campaign.

Votto, a Gold Glove finalist this season, yesterday was named one of the three finalists for the National League MVP award for the third time in his career.

The MVP will be announced Nov. 16 while the Gold Glove winners were to be revealed today.

Votto is hoping to add both to his trophy case.

“I think that going into this season I was really concerned . . . I was very, very scared that I was starting the process of declining as a defensive player,” Votto said on a conference call last night.

"And the next subject would have been possible trades to an American League team, should he DH, those sort of things.

“It was the defence [he wanted to focus on], really shoring that up and making sure that I'm among the Gold Glove finalists this year,” Votto added.

“That was my goal, to really get back on track to being one of the best defensive players in my position in baseball.”

Miami Marlins' slugger Giancarlo Stanton and Arizona Diamondbacks' first baseman Paul Goldschmidt are the other MVP finalists in the NL.

Aaron Judge (N.Y. Yankees), Jose Ramirez (Cleveland Indians), and Jose Altuve (Houston Astros) are the American League finalists.

Votto led the majors this season in on-base percentage, walks, and intentional walks and tied Kansas City's Alcides Escobar for the lead in games started (162).

The 34-year-old reached base an MLB-best 321 times in 2017, breaking his own club record of 319 set two seasons before.

He also led the NL in walks for the fifth time, in on-base percentage for the sixth time, and in both categories in the same season for the fourth time.

The Toronto native also joined Babe Ruth (1921, '24, '26, and '30) and Ted Williams (1941, '42, and '49) as the only players in major-league history to produce at least 179 hits, 36 homers, and 134 walks with 83 strikeouts or fewer in a single season.

Votto, who won the MVP award in 2010, said his 2017 campaign was even better than that year's “because I played every day.”

“I think I'm a little short on a couple of the advanced numbers, but I started maybe 15 more games than that year [2010],” he noted.

“I played 162 and I started every game," he stressed. ”So offensively, I think it may have been [his best year].

“Had I taken the time off and not faced certain starters, I probably would have had my best OPS or weighted runs created plus, some of those all-encompassing numbers I think I would have done better,” Votta reasoned.

“I know I came up short but that's a give-and-take sort of thing,” he added.

“I gave that up to make sure I played every day.”

Stanton led the majors in homers with 59 and drove in 132 runs. He batted .281, with a .376 on-base percentage and .631 slugging percentage.

Goldschmidt hit 36 home runs and had 120 RBIs in 155 games.

He finished the season with a .297 batting average.

Judge, also a finalist for the AL Rookie of the Year award, hit 52 home runs to help lead the Yankees to a playoff berth.

The 25-year-old had 114 RBIs and 127 walks, with 208 strikeouts.

Ramirez had 29 homers, 56 doubles, and 83 RBIs while batting .318 over 152 games for Cleveland.

Altuve led the league in hits with 204 and won his third career batting title with a .346 average.

He had 24 homers, 39 doubles, and drove in 81 runs for the eventual World Series champion Astros.

The Baseball Writers' Association of America revealed finalists for all its major awards Monday night.

The NL champion L.A. Dodgers could take home three awards.

Cody Bellinger could join Judge as a unanimous winner for Rookie of the Year, Clayton Kershaw is going for a fourth NL Cy Young Award, and Dave Roberts is up for manager of the year.

Pittsburgh first baseman Josh Bell and St. Louis infielder Paul DeJong round out the field for NL Rookie of the Year, with Boston outfielder Andrew Benintendi and Baltimore slugger Trey Mancini also up for the AL award.

Kershaw is competing against Washington aces Max Scherzer and Stephen Strasburg.

Corey Kluber of Cleveland, Chris Sale of Boston, and Luis Severino from the Yankees are up for the AL Cy Young Award.

The field for NL manager of the year also includes Colorado's Bud Black and Arizona's Torey Lovullo.

A.J. Hinch from the Astros is a finalist for AL manager of the year, alongside Terry Francona (Cleveland) and Paul Molitor (Minnesota).

Free story: 
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon