You are here

Busch sweeps again


FORT WORTH, Tex.—A broom was waiting for Kyle Busch in Victory Lane at Texas.

Busch took the lead after the final restart Saturday night—completing his second NASCAR weekend sweep in a row and becoming the first driver to do that since Harry Gant in 1991.

“It’s pretty darn good, I’ll tell you that,” Busch said when asked what it’s like to be him right now.

“I’ve got a great wife, a great son, and I’m having a blast, living the dream.”

While completing his personal Texas two-step, Busch ended Jimmie Johnson’s three-race winning streak at the high-banked, 1.5-mile Texas track.

It was Busch’s 36th Sprint Cup victory—a week after also winning at Martinsville.

Busch also won the Xfinity race at Texas on Friday night, his 80th win in that series that was coming off a two-week break.

At Martinsville, he also got his 45th Camping World Truck Series victory.

That’s four-straight NASCAR Series wins in a span of eight days.

On the first lap after the final restart, Busch went on the outside of Turn 4 to shoot around Martin Truex Jr. for the lead.

Busch led the rest of the way in his No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, winning by nearly four seconds over Dale Earnhardt Jr., with Joey Logano third.

“The restart was going to be key. If I could just get out in front of him, I knew I could protect the rest of the race,” Busch said.

“They had a good restart but we got a better one.”

It was Busch’s second Sprint Cup victory at Texas, where in 2013 he also swept both spring races back in 2013.

Gant had consecutive sweeps at Richmond and Dover in 1991.

Johnson, who had won five of the previous seven Texas races, finished fourth.

When the Sprint Cup Series returns to Texas in November, he will be trying to win the fall race there for the fifth year in a row.

Chase Elliott, the rookie teammate of Earnhardt and Johnson at Hendrick Motorsports, finished fifth.

The four Hendrick drivers finished in the top eight, with Kasey Kahne eighth.

All four Gibbs drivers finished in the top 12, with polesitter Carl Edwards seventh, Matt Kenseth 11th, and Denny Hamlin 12th.

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon