You are here

We have plenty to be proud of

Canadians will celebrate Canada Day this weekend. Across the country, we will move to the outdoors in droves to enjoy this first summer long weekend. Traditional Canada parades, barbecues, picnics and fireworks will mark the day for most of us.

Canada became an independent nation in 1867 under Queen Victoria and for a long time was known as the Dominion of Canada having only four provinces—Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick. Today, we have 10 provinces and three territories.

Full text available to digital subscribers only.

Login or Subscribe to the Digital Edition