You are here

Tagg’s crowned men’s soccer champs


Tagg’s dominated the field here Sunday, capturing the men’s Borderland soccer crown for the third-straight time with a convincing 6-1 victory over Nova in the league final.

“We played pretty good—the score was indicative of how intense of a game it was. We both played really well but that is just the way it worked out,” noted Tagg’s striker Mike Webb.

“Nova played really well. It was just one of those days where we could put the ball in the net and they weren’t able to,” he added. “Every shot you miss . . . can come back and hurt you.

“That is what happened with Nova yesterday,” Webb stressed.

Webb, who scored all three goals to give Tagg’s a 3-0 lead at halftime, also said each team was fairly young so they played a fairly quick game.

“We were able to go into the second half with a three-point cushion, which gave us the chance to relax a bit,” he noted.

Tagg’s went up 5-0 early in the second half on a pair of goals by Olaf Ruppenstein. After Steve Keesic brought Nova to within 5-1, Gord Keesic iced the victory with a goal.

“Once we were ahead in the second half, we backed down and let them come to us . . . which they did very hard,” Webb said. “Nova scored once but we were able to get a few more in.”

In related news, Webb and Ruppenstein tied for striker-of-the-year with 10 votes apiece. Jeremy Wilson was next in the balloting with four votes, followed by Mark Vennechenko (three votes), Dan Jones (one), and Thor Ruppenstein (one).

Olaf Ruppenstein also was named player-of-the-year with 11 votes, beating out Webb for the honours by two votes.

Gord Keesic, Mark Vennechenko, and Roy Summers all garnered two voters while Shane Beckett and Rick Chambers got one each.

Jorg Ruppenstein ran away with defensive player-of-the-year honours with 13 votes, followed by Bob Green (eight), and Greg Wiedenhoeft and Rick Chambers (two each).

Earning one vote each were Ryan Hampton, Scott Mosbeck, Jordan Roy, Bob Curtis, Dan Poperechny, Derek Ballard, and Ray Koprowski.

Steve Keesic eked out Gord Keesic for midfielder-of-the-year honours, garnering seven votes to his brother’s six.

Jason Hardwig was third with four votes, followed by Ben Andrusco (three) and Paul Danku (two). Bryce Witherspoon, Shane Beckett, Sone Sonnasinh, and Thor Ruppenstein garnered one vote each.

Dan Poperechny was named rookie-of-the-year with 13 votes, followed by Matt Basaraba (eight votes), Rick Ricard (two), and Brian Chambers (one).

And Jeremy Wilson captured most improved player honours with 10 votes, followed by Bob Curtis (three) and Jamie Algie (two).

Getting one vote each were Ryan Hampton, Roy Summers, Scott Mosbeck, Dave Bond, Al Christiansen, Kyle Perry, Robin Ogden, and Gary Curtis.

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon