You are here

Minor hockey awards handed out


Awards were handed out earlier this month at Memorial Arena for various leagues.

Michael Shoemaker of the MEC Bulldogs was named as the Atom house league MVP while Andrew Lundy of MEC was selected as the most dedicated player.

The Esso award winners for the Atom house league were as follows:

•Causeway Cougars—Brian Gustafson (most improved), Jon Paul Galbraith (most sportsmanlike), and Larry Pham (most dedicated);

•MEC Bulldogs—Kurtis Carlson (most improved), Craig Johnson (most sportsmanlike), and Shoemaker (most dedicated); and

•Gillons’—Alex Wepruk (most improved), Fraser Gibson (most sportsmanlike), and Sean Wiersema (most dedicated).

The Esso award winners for the Bantam House league include:

•Dukes—Travis Green and Nick Botsford (most dedicated), Joe Egan (most sportsmanlike), and Alison McIvor (most improved);

•Oddfellows—Jon Yellowego and Josh McMahon (most dedicated), Barrie Selin (most sportsmanlike), and Patrick Fleming (most improved); and

•Canadian Tire—Derek Schulz and Mike Rose (most dedicated), Shane Katona (most sportsmanlike), Justin Addison (most improved.

John Yellowega was awarded the Don Lovisa trophy for the most valuable player while Jon Zub picked up the Joe Bolzan Memorial trophy for the best goalie. McIvor was named as the most dedicated player in the league.

The Esso award winners for the PeeWee house league were as follows:

•Law Association—Garrick Calder (most dedicated), Justin Sanders (most sportsmen), and Aaron Petrin (most improved);

•Esso—Mark Buist (most dedicated), Tyler Startling (most sportsmanlike), and Curtis Wepruck (most improved);

•Kentucky Colonels—Jason Green (most dedicated), Scott Bridgeman (most sportsmanlike), and Paul Wood (most improved); and

•Lions—Terry Kellar (most dedicated), Tyler Pocock (most sportsmanlike), and Travis Gruttner (most improved).

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon