Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Locals shine at Games

Sarah Rittau’s name was at the bottom of the online list of starters and written in all small letters in one of her events—almost as if she was an afterthought.
The Devlin resident certainly didn’t swim like one yesterday.

The Fort Frances Cyclone member swam the second leg of Team Ontario’s gold medal-winning 4x50m freestyle relay team in the under-14 female division yesterday at the North American Indigenous Games in Regina.
If that wasn’t enough, Rittau also captured bronze in the 50m breaststroke in a time of 42.17, trailing only gold-medalist Amy Leighton of B.C. (48.93) and Manitoba’s Jessika Wilson (40.89).
Rittau also placed fifth in the 50m freestyle yesterday with a clocking of 30.87, with Jamie Hutton of B.C. taking top spot (29.59).
Meanwhile, Jaxon Calder of Couchiching powered his way to a bronze medal in the 100-kg division of male wrestling.
Calder had a bye to the semi-final, where he lost 5-0 to Nick Metoxen of Wisconsin.
But the teen, who currently attends school in Thunder Bay, rebounded to throw his own 5-0 shutout at Zachary Michel of Newfoundland and Labrador to claim the bronze.
In other action, Tyson Morrisseau of Couchiching handily leads the field in boys’ golf after a first-round 73 yesterday.
The Muskie golf team member had a six-shot advantage over second-place Wyatt Brook of B.C. (79) heading into today’s second of three rounds.
Ontario is 2-0 in under-19 girls’ softball after whipping Alberta 22-3 and Manitoba 13-4 yesterday.
Karma Andy of Big Grassy walked three times and scored a run in the win over Manitoba.
The under-19 male softball team also is perfect after two outings­—scorching Yukon 20-1 before topping Saskatchewan 12-11.
Big Island residents Matt Comegan and Braden and Jaden Gustafson helped Ontario to the two victories.
In under-16 male softball, Team Ontario—featuring Cole Tymkin of Fort Frances—is 2-1 after two days of action.
Ontario, which also has Big Grassy’s Austin Jack and Jacob Jack in its lineup, lost its opener 15-3 to California on Tuesday.
But the squad stormed back yesterday with a 17-2 hammering of New Brunswick and a win over Manitoba (score unavailable).
Ontario’s under-16 girls’ soccer team, featuring Sydney Radigan (Couchiching) and Tori Kelly (Onigaming), is unbeaten after two days with a 1-0-1 record.
The team tied B.C. 1-1 on Tuesday, then blanked Saskatchewan 1-0 yesterday.
And in under-19 girls’ volleyball, Ontario beat Colorado in three sets in its first match of the week.
The squad includes Megan Allen (Nigigoonsiminikaaning), Erika Cochrane (Mitaanjigaming), Mikhaela Copenace (Onigaming), and Alina Skead (Big Grassy).
Action continues today, with the games wrapping up Sunday.

More stories