You are here

Serena, Roddick advance at Wimbledon

Category: 

There was no doubt about the score in this Williams match.

A day after sister Venus was the victim of an umpire’s mistake during a second-round defeat, top-seeded Serena Williams swept into the third round at Wimbledon today with a 6-0, 6-4 win over French qualifier Stephanie Foretz.

American Andy Roddick also advanced in straight sets, beating 128th-ranked Alexander Peya of Austria, 6-3, 7-6 (2), 6-4, but he wasn’t entirely happy with his game.

“It was OK, I did enough to win,” the second-seeded American said. “I still don’t feel like I’m playing my best tennis. I have to pick up my game in the next round.”

In the biggest upset in the men’s draw so far, French Open runner-up Guillermo Coria, seeded No. 3, was eliminated in the second round 4-6, 6-3, 6-3, 6-4 by Germany’s Florian Mayer.

There also was a major upset on the women’s side with French Open champion Anastasia Myskina, the No. 2 seed, going down 4-6, 6-4, 6-4 to American Amy Frazier.

Coria, an Argentine clay-courter who had never won a match at Wimbledon before this year, had needed four days to compete a rain-delayed first-round match over Wesley Moodie yesterday.

Among those reaching the third round today was fifth-seeded Tim Henman, who beat Swiss qualifier Ivo Heuberger 7-5, 6-3, 6-2 to continue his bid to become the first British player to win the men’s title since 1936.

In women’s play, fourth-seeded Amelie Mauresmo of France beat American qualifier Jennifer Hopkins, 6-3, 6-3.

Williams, the two-time defending champion, had an uneven performance on Court 1 against a 125th-ranked player who had never won a Wimbledon match until the first round.

“I just kind of slacked off a little bit in the second set,” said Williams, who committed 23 unforced errors. “There are still some things I want to try to work on.”

On Wednesday, a scoring error by British chair umpire Ted Watts contributed to Venus Williams’ 7-6 (5), 7-6 (6) loss to Croatia’s Karolina Sprem.

Watts gave Sprem a point she didn’t earn in the final tie-breaker. He called the score 2-2, when Sprem should have been taking a second serve with Williams ahead 2-1.

Neither player disputed the call.

Williams built a 6-3 edge, but then lost the next five points for her earliest loss at the All England Club since her 1997 debut.

The All England Club announced today that Watts won’t officiate another match at this tournament.

Serena Williams, who said she didn’t watch her sister’s match, questioned why Sprem didn’t acknowledge the error at the time.

“As a competitor and as a professional, you should be able to distinguish between right and wrong,” she said. “I’ve never been in a situation like that before. I’m an honest individual.

“If I were in that situation, I know I’d make the right choice.”

Roddick also suggested Sprem should have owned up.

“Personally, I’d have trouble just taking a point from someone,” he said. “I’ve heard that no one noticed and stuff, but if it’s the biggest match of your life, I’m figure you know what the score is. . . .

“I’d have a real issue just pretending like nothing was wrong and just taking the point.”

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon