You are here

RRDFL hands out awards


The Rainy River District Fastball League handed out its end-of-season awards Friday in Big Grassy.

The big winner on the night was Big Island’s Jesse Tom, who tied for the home run king award with Rainy River’s Tony Armstrong (eight apiece), while also collecting the top shortstop prize and the Shane Jarvis sportsmanship award.

Manager of the year went to Sabaskong’s Frank Shebagegit while the utility award went to Grant Swire of Sight & Sound.

The three outstanding outfielders were Brendan Big George (Big Island), Kevin Copenace (Sabaskong), and Curtis Wepruk (Sight & Sound).

Top third baseman went to Sight & Sound’s Duane Carlson, second base to Chris Jack of Big Grassy, and first base to Rainy River’s Tony Armstrong.

Big Grassy’s Jeff Morrison was named the top pitcher, and also received the Gerry Harasymyk league MVP award, while his teammate, Brian Hook, captured the top catcher recognition. Rookie of the year went to Cody Heynes of Stratton.

The Kingsley Downs/Gus Lindberg umpires’ choice award went to Sight & Sound manager Derek McKinnon for his continued support and sportsmanship in the league as a whole.

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon