You are here

Opening draws set for men’s bonspiel


Some 48 teams are vying for the top prize this year at the 50th-annual Fort Frances men’s bonspiel, which runs tomorrow through Sunday at the local curling club.

Mark Haluptzok of Bemidji, Mn. won last year’s bonspiel with a 10-7 victory over Jim Ballard in the ‘A’ final.

Here are the opening draws (teams are from Fort Frances unless otherwise noted):

Thursday, March 26

6:45 p.m. draw

Tom Rawn vs. Duane Roste (International Falls); Wayne Beecham vs. Ron Martinuk; Curtis Sheloff (Emo) vs. Robert Schulz; Paul Fraser vs. Mark Broman; Mike Asplund vs. Don DeBenedet; and Terry Taylor (International Falls) vs. Ev. Jackson.

Thursday, March 26

9 p.m. draw

Tom Fry vs. Brian Bonot (Stratton); John McLeod vs. Ken McKinnon; Greg Plumridge vs. Lee Donaldson; Rod Pattison vs. Tom Mayer (International Falls); Bill Easton vs. Ron Bridgeman; and Rick Wiedenhoeft vs. Tim Nordin.

Friday, March 27

9 a.m. draw

Dave Hughes vs. Ken Wilson; Joe Danku vs. Rob Sinclair (Thunder Bay); Mark Stevens (Grand Rapids) vs. Lance Romance (Thunder Bay); Andy Jackson vs. Doug Boyd; Jim Jackson vs. Kevin Busch; and Greg Gustafson vs. Clyde Ditmars.

Friday, March 27

11 a.m. draw

Walter Prince (Thunder Bay) vs. Scott Gobeil; Pete Ledrew vs. Terry Miller (Hibbing); Gary Windego vs. Don McReady (Dryden); Rick Payne vs. Hal Fjeldstead (Red Lake); Todd Cunningham (International Falls) vs. Bill Chitty (Red Lake); and Lorne Jackson vs. Dick Armit (Dryden).

The finals for all four events—A, B, C, and D—are slated to start Sunday at 3 p.m.

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon