You are here

Nominees sought for top citizen


The town’s “Citizen of the Year” selection committee is asking the public to start thinking about individuals who have made a difference in our community and nominate them for the award, which is being given out for the 21st time this year.

Anyone who has done an outstanding job for the community in any way is eligible for the award. The only stipulation is that the recipient be a resident of the Town of Fort Frances and that the nominee not presently hold elected office.

Bill Gushulak, “Citizen of the Year 2000” and a selection committee member, said people who may have submitted nominations for individuals in the past, and who were not chosen that particular year, should feel free to re-nominate that person as long they are still an active member of the community.

After all, at any given time, there are many citizens who help make Fort Frances a better place to live.

“There’s no shortage of people that do a lot for this community,” noted Gushulak. “When we are given an opportunity to recognize one of those individuals for the next year, then we would like to do that.”

Gushulak, who sits on the selection committee along with Mark Kowalchuk (“Citizen of the Year 1994”), Mayor Roy Avis, and Coun. Sharon Tibbs, said the committee encourages as many people as possible to nominate deserving individuals so they have plenty to choose from.

He noted nomination forms are now available at the information desk at the Civic Centre, and that filling them out is straightforward and doesn’t take very long.

Completed nomination forms must be returned to the Civic Centre by 4 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 31. The selection committee then will meet in the following weeks in order to make a recommendation to town council in time for its Nov. 10 meeting.

The “Citizen of the Year” will be formally honoured at the town’s annual appreciation banquet Nov. 21 at La Place Rendez-Vous, and also likely will take part in the Santa Claus and Canada Day parades.

The identities of the nominees will not be revealed. Only the winner will be publicly announced.

Past “Citizen of the Year” honourees also include Dr. Robert Lidkea (2007), June Keddie (2006), Patti-Jo Reid (2005), Joyce Gosselin (2004), John Dutton (2003), Jean and Lin Boileau (2002), John McTaggart (2001), Jim Cumming (1999), Walter Horban (1998), Terry Ogden (1997), Gordon McTaggart (1996), Pastor Earl Swanson (1995).

Rounding out the past recipients are Dr. Audrey Johnstone (1993), George Wood (1992), Jean Scheirer (1991), Florence and Woody Gray (1990), Albert McKelvie (1989), and Dede Mallory (1988).

For more information, call Gushulak (274-3891) or Kowalchuk (274-9118).

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon