You are here

Bring your ID to vote


After a five-week campaign, voters finally will have a chance to make their voices heard with the arrival of election day today.

Polls in Rainy River District are open from 8:30 a.m.-8:30 p.m., which coincides with the polls located in the riding’s Eastern time zone that are open from 9:30 a.m.-9:30 p.m.

With recent changes to electoral law, voters now must provide identification if they wish to vote. There are three options:

•one original piece of photo identification issued by the government or government agency, such as a driver’s licence;

•two original pieces of identification, both of which must contain your name and one with your home address; or

•swearing an oath and being vouched for by someone with proper identification who is on the same list of electors and in the same polling division.

More information can be found at Elections Canada’s website at or by calling the local returning office (located at 242 Scott St.) at 274-5346.

Advance polls saw 869 people in the district cast their ballots.

The 2006 election saw a total of 38,618 votes cast, with voter turnout sitting at 61.1 percent. A total of 13,520 votes (35.13 percent) gave incumbent Liberal MP Ken Boshcoff, who first was elected in 2004, another trip to Ottawa.

NDP candidate John Rafferty followed with a total of 12,862 votes (33.42 percent) while Conservative candidate David Leskowski (who was replaced by Richard Neumann for this election) finished third with 10,485 votes (27.24 percent).

Green Party candidate Russ Aegard was fourth with 1,193 votes (3.09 percent).

The Marijuana Party, which did not run any candidates in this election, came in fifth in 2006 with a total of 424 votes.

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon