You are here

Beazley named new chair for LHIN board


Janice (Jan) Beazley of Fort Frances has been appointed chair for the North West LHIN board of directors while Robert (Bob) Gregor of Marathon has been appointed vice-chair.

Beazley replaces Dr. John Whitfield, founding chair of the LHIN, who resigned effective March 31.

“I look forward to building on the great work and leadership of the founding chair, Dr. Whitfield,” said Beazley. “The North West LHIN is seeing significant advancements in chronic disease prevention and management, seniors’ services, e-health, and wait times.

“The board and LHIN staff are moving health care system transformation in Northwestern Ontario forward to achieve our vision of healthier people, a strong health system–our future,” she added.

Beazley, a founding member of the North West LHIN board, has served as vice-chair since June, 2005. She is a certified health executive and lifestyle coach with 28 years of executive health care experience, which has focused on all aspects of health care administration in rural and urban settings.

From 1999-2005, Beazley worked on the executive team at Trillium Health Centre in Mississauga, Ont. executing strategic initiatives and the redesign of a new governance structure.

Prior to that, she was director of the Riverside Foundation for Health Care in Fort Frances, and also served as assistant executive director, Corporate & Special Services, at Riverside Health Care Facilities, Inc. from 1990-98, providing leadership in that portfolio across a multi-site organization.

Beazley is a graduate of the University of Minnesota in Health Services Administration, and has taken business studies from the University of Manitoba and Lakehead University. She is a member of the Canadian College of Health Service Executives, and is actively involved in a number of community, regional and provincial initiatives and boards.

Gregor, meanwhile, has been a director of the North West LHIN board since May, 2006.

“I am honoured to work with board members who bring such valuable knowledge, experience, skill, and commitment to the table and with staff who continue to impress me with their competence and extreme dedication,” said Gregor. “The relationships we have built, and continue to build, with our residents, communities, and health service providers are essential.

“They help bring local needs, perspectives, and priorities to the forefront as we work collectively to develop an innovative, sustainable, and efficient health system for the people of the North West LHIN.”

Both appointments by the Lt. Governor-in-Council were endorsed by Health and Long-Term Care minister David Caplan and are for three-year terms effective Aug. 21, 2008.

“I am pleased to welcome Ms. Beazley and Mr. Gregor to their new roles as chair and vice-chair of the North West Local Health Integration Network,” said Caplan.

“Ms. Beazley’s wealth of knowledge in health care administration, and Mr. Gregor’s valuable experience in business and strong commitment to accountability, will serve the residents of the North West LHIN well,” he added.

The North West LHIN is responsible for planning, integrating, and funding local health services—hospitals, long-term care facilities, the community care access centre, community health centres, community support services, and mental health and addictions agencies.

The North West LHIN and its board of directors are responsible for more than $535 million of health-care services delivered in Northwestern Ontario.

The board currently has eight of its nine members. For more information on the board or applying to serve on it, see the “Board of Directors” section at

Other members include Judy Morrison (Fort Frances), secretary Ennis Fiddler (Sandy Lake), Kevin Bahm (Terrace Bay), Marleen Wong (Kenora), Chantelle Bryson (Thunder Bay), and Tom Sarvas (Thunder Bay).

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon