You are here


Thunder Bay looking for ‘Storm’ of football players

In an attempt to bring senior football back to Thunder Bay, the newly-formed Thunder Bay Storm is looking to attract players from Northwestern Ontario to suit up in the new Central Senior Football League this season.

The CSFL is looking for players who have graduated from NorWOSSA football and would be attending either university or college in the Lakehead this fall.

Kid-Pro tourney considered a big catch

When the first-annual Kid-Pro Am fishing tournament wrapped up last Thursday, organizers were elated to find the idea was just as big a hit with the pros as it was with the youngsters.

In fact, Rick Socholotuk, who helped organize the tournament with Bill Morgenstern, said the three-hour, catch-and-release event “far exceeded” all expectations they had.

Bass keep getting bigger

The average weight of the 497 bass caught over the three days of this year’s Fort Frances Canadian Bass Championship jumped by nearly a quarter of a pound compared to the 1997 tournament, the area biologist for the local Ministry of Natural Resources office reported Tuesday.

Merchants win silver at provincials

The Sunset Merchants blew a three-run lead in the last inning of the championship game Sunday to fall 6-5 to the Gladstone Whips at the Intermediate ‘A’ Manitoba provincial fastball tournament in Winnipeg.

Holding a comfortable 5-2 lead heading into the bottom of the seventh, the Merchants’ hopes of winning their second provincial title in three years were abruptly dashed.

Emo Bulldogs win fastball tourney

The Emo Bulldogs used the long ball behind the two-hit pitching of Gus Copenace to dump the Thunder Bay Mariners 7-1 in the ‘A’-final Sunday at a fastball tournament in Kakabeka Falls.

Dennis Mounk, Sean Taggart, and Sheldon Kelly all homered for the Bulldogs, who finished the tournament with a perfect 5-0 record.