You are here


KCs outlast Hawks in tournament final

The host KC ‘AA’ PeeWee rep team nipped the Neebing Hawks 2-1 on Sunday afternoon in the championship final of the 12-team tournament at Memorial Arena.

After a scoreless first period, the KCs jumped out to a 2-0 lead on goals by A.J. Tucker and Kris Esselink. Neebing’s Shawn Wood scored with 6:15 to play but the Hawks couldn’t get the equalizer.

Selects dump Falls squad

The Emo Selects scored three first-period goals and never looked back en route to a 6-1 victory over International Falls in Atom action.

Six different players shared in the scoring for the Selects—Sean Rea, Josh Swire, Dennis Mutz, Jake Gill, Dylan McGinnis, and Ryan Mutz.

The Falls tallied their marker halfway through the third period.

Tooks win Cowboys tourney

The Fort Frances Tooks tackled everything in sight last weekend at the annual Emo Cowboys liniment league hockey tournament, going unbeaten in four games en route to capturing top honours Sunday afternoon.

L. Beck, assisted by B. Tookenay, netted the game-winner at the 6:18 mark of the third as the Tooks nipped Atikokan 2-1 in the fast-paced final.