You are here


Local gymnasts win top awards

Several local gymnasts earned first-place showings during the annual Springfest inter-club competition at the Fort Frances Gymnastics Academy last weekend.

Among the boys, John Ans (Beginner aged nine/10) and Travis Hahkala (Advanced aged nine-12) each placed first in their respective divisions while Joshua Stromness (Advanced aged seven/eight) finished third.

B•Macs struggle in Winnipeg

It was just one of those tournaments in which everything went wrong for the local B•Macs ‘AA’ Bantam hockey team.

They blew leads, spent countless minutes in the penalty box, ran into some hot goaltending, and eventually came away with an 0-3 record.

“I thought going in we had a heck of a good shot of going on to the ‘A’-side,” head coach Brad Fairnington said afterwards.

Grynol nets hat trick

Former Muskie Aaron Grynol netted a hat trick to help the Thunder Bay Flyers to a season-ending 7-4 victory over the Dubuque Fighting Saints in United States Hockey League action last Saturday.

Grynol, 18, was the Flyers leading goal scorer this season, finishing with 22. His 34 points put him fourth in team scoring.

KCs take second at Fargo

The local KC “AA” Peewee hockey team finished with a 4-1 record to place second at a six-team tournament in Fargo, N.D. earlier this month.

Their only loss in the five-game round-robin was a 2-1 decision to the Fargo Raiders—this year’s North Dakota state champs.