You are here

Davis nabs first win of season


His first race of the season paid off pretty handsomely for Jamie Davis.

The Fort Frances native roared his way to his first checkered flag in the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds division in Borderland Racing Association action on Saturday night at the Emo Speedway.

Davis—who finished 12th in the points standings last season—topped heat 2 on Saturday night and kept that momentum rolling into the feature as he cruised to victory over Wyatt Boyum of International Falls and Cody Ossachuk of Fort Frances.

Colin Chaschuk of Neebing placed fourth while local Gavin Paull rounded out the top five.

Ossachuk's third-place finish vaulted him to the top of the points standings with 404—four up on Tanner Williamson of the Fort (400).

James Lambert currently sits third (394), Mike Wilson of Devlin is fourth (372), while Boyum rounds out the top five (305).

In WISSOTA Modifieds action, meanwhile, three-time defending champ Brody Strachan of Emo soared to his second checkered flag of the season.

He was followed by local Brady Caul and Tyler Jonson of the Falls.

Tony Caissie (Winnipeg) placed fourth while Tyler Brown (Rainy River) rounded out the top five.

Strachan's win bumped him up one spot to second in the points standings with 409—14 points back of Caul for the division lead (423).

Brown currently occupies third spot (381), Brandon Pelepetz of Emo is fourth (379), while Paull rounds out the top five (377).

In the Street Stocks division, Jake Froemke of the Falls followed up a pair of top-10 finishes to start the season with a win in Saturday's race.

He was followed by defending champ Tylar Wilson of the Fort and Jesse Thompson of Emo.

Raice Westover and Jyllian Westover (both of the Fort) rounded out the top five.

Wilson leads the points race with 405, followed by Raice Westover (396), and Thompson (390).

Dean Kellar/Sierra Happy of Devlin occupy fourth spot (383) while Jyllian Westover rounds out the top five (370).

Racing resumes this Saturday, with hot laps starting at 7 p.m. and the first race going at 7:30.

Free story: 
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon