You are here

Dozens stand for election


Nearly three dozen men and women have been nominated to run for Couchiching chief and council in the Feb. 24 election.

The four nominations for chief include incumbent Sara Mainville, along with Louis “Smokey” Bruyere, Scott McPherson, and Brian Perrault.

The 31 nominated for council are (in alphabetical order) Debbie Adams, Gary Adams, Marilyn Allan, Ron “Magoo” Archie, David Bruyere, Dean Bruyere, Edwin “Johnny” Bruyere, Norman A. Bruyere Jr., Richard Bruyere, and Margie Derendorf-Caul.

They’re joined by Carolyn Jourdain, Christine Jourdain, Shane Jourdain, Ida Linklater, Larry Linklater, Ron Linklater, Daniel Mainville, Nick Mainville, Eugene McPherson, Daniel Craig Morriseau, Darren Morrisseau, Dennis Morrisseau, Lucille “Bugsy” Morrisseau, and Patrick Morrisseau.

Rounding out the nominees are Brian L. Perreault, Clinton Perrault, William “Bill” Perrault, Nicole Rene Perreault, Estelle Simard, Allan Yerxa, and Brian Yerxa.

Candidates have until Monday to decline their nomination.

One chief and six councillors will be elected for a two-year term.

There will be a single polling station at the Couchiching multi-use building on election day.

Off-reserve and absentee ballots also will be available.

The hours will be posted on election notices throughout the community, as well as at

The current chief and council will meet on an as-required basis until the end of their mandate March 7.

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon