You are here

Chair, vice-chair return


The Rainy River District School Board is pleased to announce that elections for the office of chair and vice-chair were held at its regular monthly meeting here Tuesday night.

Trustee Dianne McCormack, who represents the Town of Rainy River, as well as the townships of Morley, Morson, Lake of the Woods, McCrosson & Tovell, Dawson, and the unorganized area adjacent to Dawson, was nominated and acclaimed as chair.

Trustee Michael Lewis, who represents the Township of Atikokan and surrounding areas, was nominated and acclaimed as vice-chair.

Trustee Don McBride was nominated and acclaimed as the Ontario Public School Board Association (OPSBA) representative.

As a trustee, he represents the Townships of Emo, Kingsford, Fleming, Senn, McLarty, Nestor Falls, Chapple, and unorganized area north of Chapple, excepting Lake of the Woods.

McCormack was nominated and acclaimed as the alternate OPSBA representative.

Trustees are elected by public school taxpayers every four years during municipal elections, and are responsive to the needs of their communities.

The current trustees were elected to serve from Dec. 1, 2014 to Nov. 30, 2018.

The office of chair and vice-chair are elected by the trustees each year at the December board meeting.

Administration congratulates McCormack, Lewis, and McBride on their appointments, and thanks all trustees for their continued commitment to student achievement and well-being.

Free story: 
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon