You are here


Health unit thanks its outgoing board members

The board of health overseeing the Northwestern Health Unit will have some new faces around the table in 2019.

Eight of the 11 seats on the board are filled by representatives from municipalities within the region and on the heels of the recent municipal election, the board will see some new faces.

Up to three members of the board are appointed by the province.

Cash calendar winners

There were more winners in the Rainy River District Mutual Aid Association's weekly cash calendar draw.

Winning $30 for Dec. 16-22 were Yvonne Treffers (Atikokan), Mike and Bev McCoy (Devlin), Brenda Boettele (Fort Frances), Tom Johnson Sr. (Mine Centre), Barry Marcotte (Fort Frances), Teresa Haney (Atikokan), and Donna Calvelli (Atikokan).

Power union workers to be legislated back to work

The provincial government introduced legislation on Monday to prevent a strike or lockout at the Ontario Power Generation, which Energy minister and local MPP Greg Rickford has deemed necessary to avoid power outages by this weekend.

If the bill passes, the Ontario Power Workers' Union and Ontario Power Generation (OPG) will settle their disputes through arbitration.