You are here

Province releases list of employees earning 100,000+


The Ontario Ministry of Finance has released its annual list of public-sector employees who earned more than $100,000 in 2008.

Rolling out on top for this area was Senior Justice Donald Fraser with a salary of $299,460.77, followed in second by Justice Alan Thomas McKay ( $252,866.07).

Also over the $200,000 mark was Riverside Health Care Facilities, Inc. CEO Wayne Woods with a 2008 salary of $245,417.38—up from $228,962.51 in 2007.

Kenora-Rainy River MPP Howard Hampton brought in $156,987.72 in 2008.

Meanwhile, Fort Frances CAO Mark McCaig’s salary rose from $113,426.71 in 2007 to $120,673.69 for 2008, Rainy River District Social Services Administration Board CAO Donna Dittaro’s salary rose from $109,037.40 to $113,252.41, and Family & Children’s Services executive director Viktor Nowak’s salary for 2008 was $114,322.74—up from $112,635.01 the previous year.

Topping the list for the Rainy River District School Board was Education Director Jack McMaster, with a 2008 salary of $162,719—up from $147,755 in 2007.

Returning to the list for another year were Fort Frances High School principal Gord McCabe ($112,675), now retired Robert Moore principal Penny Newman ($104,258), the board’s Superintendent of Business Laura Mills ($130,058), and FFHS teacher Paul Elliott ($142,978).

Public school board employees added to this year’s list included Superintendent of Education Heather Campbell ($126,521), J.W. Walker Principal Bill Daley ($103,509), North Star Community School Principal Jody Laboissiere ($100,064), FFHS vice-principal Ian Simpson ($101,843), Student Success leader Casey Slack ($114,707), the Effective School leader Sylvia Parker ($106,979).

For the Northwest Catholic District School Board, Education Director Mary-Catherine Kelly’s 2008 salary was reported at $173,906.93—up from $167,062 in 2007.

Also appearing on the list from the local Catholic board was Superintendent of Education Al Cesiunas ($126,223.40), St. Francis School’s principal Teresa Dennis ($103,726.61), Superintendent of Business Chris Howarth ($126,223.40), Our Lady of the Way School principal Brendan Hyatt ($103,726.66), Sacred Heart School principal Margot Saari ($103,726.61), School Effectiveness leader Jo-Ann Querel ($109,677.46), and Assistant to the Director of Education David Sharp ($113,449.74).

New to this year’s list is St. Michael’s principal Darlene Fejos Rousseau ($102,016.69) and St. Joseph’s School principal Mark Lugli ($101,181.20).

The Northwestern Health Unit, meanwhile, reported three people whose salaries were above the $100,000 mark, including Director of Environmental Health Bill Limerick ($115,819.75).

New to the list for 2008 were CAO Mark Perrault ($111,542.54) and Director of Planning & Evaluation Valerie Mann ($110,530.45).

Riverside Health Care Facilities, Inc. saw several new people added to the list this year, including Rainycrest administrator Edith Bodnar ($110,524.57), Rainycrest administrator Soili Helppi ($101,641.07), Human Resources manager Andrew Lesko ($102,019.82), nurse manager Tammy McNally ($102,233.78), nursing practice manager Susan Ossachuk ($102,172.95), registered nurse Debbie Canfield ($102,926.84), and registered nurse Sheri De Gagne ($109,953.30).

Remaining on the list from previous years was Lori Maki, vice-president of Clinical Services, at $143,465.52, registered nurse Marna Martin ($112,727.98), and registered nurse Dianna Whalen ($111,541.95).

Organizations with no salaries over $100,000 to disclose included the area’s First Nations, all other municipalities across the district, the Atikokan Crisis Centre, the Fort Frances Branch of the Canadian Mental Health Association, Gizhewaadiziwin Health Access Centre, Rainy River District Victim Services Program, United Native Friendship Centre, and Weechi-it-te-win Family Services Inc.

Under the Public Sector Salary Disclosure Act, organizations that receive funding from the Ontario government are required to annually disclose the salaries of all employees who have earned more than the $100,000 mark.

The complete list of names and salaries, including from previous years, is available online at the Ministry of Finance’s website at

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon