You are here

Joint busing committee back up for discussion


Discussions over establishing a joint transportation committee between the Northwest Catholic District School Board and Rainy River District School Board will continue at tonight’s monthly meeting of the Catholic board.

At last month’s meeting, NCDSB trustees agreed the formation of a transportation committee was “necessary in developing a transportation consortia in the district.”

And a reply to the local public board said they would support a committee with equal representation, and suggested the committee include one trustee and one administrator from each board.

In response to this, the public board has suggested three trustees from each board sit on the committee to ensure equal representation, as well as to provide a district perspective for the process.

Each board currently has its own separate transportation policy despite working together to provide busing throughout the district.

This new committee would look to establish a “one manual” approach.

Also tonight, the Catholic board will receive a presentation on the Board Improvement/School Improvement Plan, as well as a presentation on the “Official Languages in Education (OLE) Program: French as a Second Language.”

Meanwhile, this month’s recognition of excellence will be presented to Dennis Vinczeffy, Kristi Hildebrand, and Gene Palko of Sacred Heart School in Sioux Lookout.

The meeting, being held via videoconference, begins at 6:30 p.m. at St. Francis School.

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon