You are here

Denby to head Chamber


Christine Denby (Gillons’ Insurance Brokers) was elected president of the Fort Frances Chamber of Commerce at its annual general membership meeting late Tuesday afternoon at The Harbourage.

Taking Denby’s place as first vice-president will be Cathy Emes (Edwards Jones).

Gary Rogozinski (Abitibi-Consolidated) will assume the role of past president while the positions of second vice-president and treasurer are expected to be filled at the Chamber’s next regular meeting Dec. 12.

Meanwhile, the new directors on the Chamber board for 2007 include LeighAnn Cameron (Border Rock 92.3 fm “The Wolf”), Nancy Daley (Canadian Mental Health Association), Stephen Kontzie (RBC), Kevin Nielson (Shopper’s Drug Mart), Janet Plumridge (Investors Group), and Chris Shackles (Enterprise Rent-A-Car).

Returning directors include Barb Cournoyer (TD Canada Trust), Brian Kahler (Brown Cow Productions), Bev Kotnik (Good Impressions Printing), Anne Renaud (Confederation College), Kelly Spicer (Curves for Women), and Jeff Wright (Wright Physiotherapy).

Jane Gillon (Ministry of Northern Development and Mines) was appointed as an ex-officio member while Patti Anderson and Geoff Gillon will represent the Business Improvement Association and Rainy River Future Development Corp., respectively.

The Chamber hopes to see the Town of Fort Frances and Couchiching First Nation appoint representatives in the near future.

The Chamber also bid farewell to a number of directors, including Alan Tibbetts (H&R Block), Gus MacDonell (IQON Financial), Meghan Haehn (BDO Dunwoody), Mike Cameron (Confederation College), Linda Larocque (Kitchen Creek Golf Course), and Randy Thoms (Shaw Cable).

The new board will assume their positions Jan. 1.

Also at Tuesday’s wine and cheese get-together, mayor-elect Roy Avis shared his vision of the next four years with the Chamber membership.

About 40 people were on hand for the event.

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
Reddit icon
e-mail icon