You are here


Lynx romp all over Mud Dogs

You could say the Big Grassy Lynx bit a chunk out of the Fort Frances Mud Dogs.

The Lynx jumped all over Mud Dogs' starter Jodie Hood en-route to a 12-run first inning and never looked back in a 21-12 romp in Rainy River District Women's Fastball League action last Wednesday night at the St. Francis Sports Field.

One lane of traffic at overpass

Construction season has returned and with it comes one-lane traffic for area residents coming and going via the east end of town.

Until the second week of June construction will be ongoing at the overpass, as highlighted by manager of Operations and Facilities Travis Rob at the town council meeting here Monday evening.

Drain stencil program lauded

A local class is working hard to keep Rainy River and the Rainy-Lake of the Woods watershed free from pollutants.

Grade 8 teacher at Fort High, Jody Bonner-Vickers, and her class delivered a presentation during a council meeting on Monday about the Drain Stencil Program that's running for its third-consecutive year.

'Strawberry Social'

The Rainy River Legion was a beehive of activity last Wednesday afternoon during the Rainy River Hospital Auxiliary's annual “Strawberry Social.” Auxiliary supporters came out to the popular fundraiser to enter draws, play the penny table, socialize, and of course, and enjoy a yummy dessert.

Up for bid

Heather Oltsher, right, and Joyanne Tolen admired a pillow which was up for bid in the silent auction Saturday afternoon during the “Mama's Gone Country Chic” fundraiser at the Emo-La Vallee Community Centre. This year's spring fundraiser luncheon raised just over $9,200 for the Riverside Foundation for Health Care.